64th Annual Oregon Sports Award

By Fox 12 Staff20 GARY PAYTON

The state’s top athletes gathered in the Beaverton area for the 64th annual Oregon Sports Awards.

The event was hosted at the Nike World Headquarters in the Tiger Woods Center and honored the peak performers at the prep, collegiate and professional levels.

Among the highlights of the night, Hall of Famer Gary Payton presented his son, Gary Payton II, with the Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year award.

The elder Payton won the same award 27 years ago while playing basketball at Oregon State University.

Gary Payton said he takes a lot of pride in the way his son plays the game on the defensive end of the court.

“It’s just great to know that I’ve got a kid that watched me and plays defense just like I did,” Gary Payton said.

Gary Payton II helped lead the Beavers back to the NCAA Basketball Tournament for the first time since his father was at Oregon State in 1990.

“Coach (Wayne) Tinkle and the staff did a tremendous job coming in and turning things around shortly and quickly and also my teammates buying in and believing in them and trusting them,” Gary Payton II said. “We just put in the work and time and trusting them to get us back to where we belong.”

The awards continued to go Oregon State’s way.

OSU’s Jamie Weisner, who is now in the WNBA, took home the other Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year award. The Beavers women’s basketball team earned the George Pasero Team of the Year honors after reaching the Final Four for the first time.

The MLS Cup Champion Portland Timbers, along with the men’s golf team and the men’s and women’s indoor track and field teams from the University of Oregon were also named the state’s top teams for 2016.

The Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year winners were Stanford-bound Grant High School runner Ella Donaghu and Sheldon High School multi-sport athlete Justin Herbert, who is heading to the University of Oregon to play football for the Ducks.

Blazers guard Damian Lillard and track star Brianne Theisen-Eaton were named the Harry Glickman Professional Athletes of the Year, but they were not able to be in attendance for the event.

For a full list of all the award winners, go to oregonsportsawards.com. For more local news, visit kptv.com