Beaverton has a new mayor and city council members, and it’s a welcome change

Beaverton has a new mayor and city council members, and it’s a welcome change

The City of Beaverton welcomes changes to the Beaverton City Council with new and re-elected councilors joining fellow positions. Mayor Lacey Beaty, Councilor Mark Fagin, Councilor Nadia Hasan and Councilor Allison Tivnon were sworn in to their positions, joining fellow positions held by Councilor Laura Mitchell and Councilor Marc San Soucie.

The intimate ceremony included remarks and photo opportunities with friends and family in a socially distanced setting with safety protocols in place.

The changes reflect results from the November 2020 general election, as well as voter-approved changes to Beaverton’s city charter that expanded the Beaverton City Council to include seven members: six part-time city councilors and one full-time mayor with voting privileges.


2021 Beaverton City Council: Lacey Beaty, Mayor

Mayor Lacey Beaty has been on the Beaverton City Council since 2015 and is active in the community, including serving on the HomePlate Youth Services Board of Directors. She has also volunteered on the city’s Visioning Advisory Committee, is a Beaverton Police Citizens Academy graduate and has served on the Beaverton Area Chamber of Commerce’s Leadership Beaverton board. She vacated her City Council position to become mayor.

“I’m looking forward to continuing to work with city staff, community members and my City Council colleagues as we begin the process of tackling the important issues facing Beaverton today, all in the hopes of building a better Beaverton for all.”


Laura Mitchell, Council Position 2

Councilor Laura Mitchell was elected to the City Council in the November 2018 general election and began her first four-year term of service in January 2019. Laura previously served on the city’s Budget Committee and Social Services Funding Committee.

“Happy New Year and welcome to 2021, a year of news! 2021 is bringing forth a new city charter, a new position for a city manager, new council members and moreover, fresh, new perspectives. I am looking forward to what this year has in store for all of us and our beautiful city. Thank you for choosing Beaverton as your place to call home!”


Mark Fagin, Council Position 3

Councilor Mark Fagin was reelected to this position and has served on the City Council since 2013. Before being elected to council, he was a member of the Planning Commission, the Civic Plan Steering Committee and was the founding chairperson of the city’s award-winning Visioning Advisory Committee. Mark is a graduate of the Leadership Beaverton program. He was also an active volunteer for the Urban Renewal Plan.

“As I enter my third and final term, I look forward to continuing to serve our community. It has been a pleasure to work with the residents of Beaverton, city staff and other elected officials to help improve our great city.”


Allison Tivnon, Council Position 4

Councilor Allison Tivnon is newly elected and previously served as a Beaverton Arts Commission commissioner and chair and a member of the Oregon Complete Counts committee for the State of Oregon’s 2020 Census. She has 15 years of experience in marketing and business development and civic and philanthropic development.

“I look forward to working alongside my fellow councilors and Mayor Beaty, our city staff and the upcoming interim city manager, as well as our many community partners. Our residents and businesses are looking to us to look out for them. We have all endured the kaleidoscope that 2020 turned out to be and have our work cut out for us in charting a course to recovery. Hanging tight to our Community Vision Plan, our DEI and Climate Action Plans and continuing to make progress toward our affordable housing goals will all be front of mind in our decision-making. I am thrilled to join the council and am eager to get started!”


Marc San Soucie, Council Position 5

Councilor Marc San Soucie joined the City Council in November 2008, after he was elected to complete an unexpired term. Marc will be the first to experience Beaverton’s new term limits, when his term ends in December 2022.

“Beaverton continues to excel at welcoming and celebrating residents and businesses from all parts of the country and the world. This enriches our culture, our resilience and our ability to attract new and exciting people and activities to our city. As our city keeps growing and modernizing, we have to support each other so that we can all be successful in our lives here in Beaverton.”

Nadia Hasan, Council Position 6

Councilor Nadia Hasan is the first to hold City Council Position 6. She previously served on the Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District Visioning Task Force and is currently a Unite Oregon board member. She brings over 15 years of experience having worked as a public-school teacher, marketer and HR professional.

“I am excited to serve you alongside Mayor Beaty, fellow City Council members and city staff. 2021 brings hope and I look forward to bringing new voices and fresh perspectives as we build a Beaverton that we can all call home.”

Mayor Beaty’s vacated position (Council Position 1) will be filled during a special election in May 2021.

City Council meetings are open to staff and the public, available for online viewing and televised multiple times on community access television (TVCTV). Meetings are Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m. For the most up-to-date schedule, agenda and materials visit